Almond Milk

I make almond milk once or twice a week, not only is it a great substitute for cow’s milk or soy milk it tastes great is full of nutrients and contains no cholesterol.

Almond Milk

  • 1 cup Almonds
  • 2-3 cups water depending on how you like it.
  • Cheesecloth Tea towel or a laundry mesh bag IMG_6985
  • Soak almonds over night in water.
  • Strain and rinse the almonds with clean water  (I keep the water from the soaked almonds and put on my herb garden).
  • Place the almonds in your blender with the 2-3 cups of water and blend for 1 min
  • Strain the almond mixture over a jug with a sieve. You could just go straight to the next step I like to do both
  • I then pour the milk through my laundry mesh bag. I have just finally purchased an almond milk bag and cant wait for its arrival. You could also you pour the whole lot through the mesh bag
  • Next I put the almond pieces into the mesh bag and squeeze squeeze squeeze. Its amazing how much milk you can get out.
  • Tip your milk into you milk jar and why not pour a glass for yourself after all your hard work 🙂

IMG_6996

 

Now the best part is to find what to do with the left over almond pulp.

That will be my next Blog

Beck xox

Leave a Reply

